Thursday, March 08, 2007

Canada Reads 2008- If You Loved Me You Would

Canada Reads has posted a question asking who we'd like to hear discussing the books next year. I've pleaded my case and I'm hoping that, with enough support behind me, they'll consider a relative nobody like myself. So if you want to show your support and get me on the air, suggest "John Mutford" here. With all 4 of my faithful readers behind me, I'm a shoo in!

15 comments:

John Mutford said...

Just to let everyone know, on the site it says that "Not every comment will be published." I know a few people have already posted comments which haven't appeared. This may be due to a delay (all comments are reviewed before posting) or they may have decided not to publish all the "John Mutford" comments. That doesn't matter. As long as enough people write in, the people at Canada Reads will get the message whether or not they publish the comments.

Barbara Bruederlin said...

I want to hear you defending a book on Canada Reads next year. I'm going to bat for you and will force everybody else to as well.
Go John!

Barbara Bruederlin said...

Have you noticed this on the Canada Reads website:

[editor's note: the John Mutford lobbying efforts have been duly noted. Surely there might be one or two other Canadians you'd like to hear on Canada Reads next year?)

You've got them going boyo!

Allison said...

Yes, love the label!

But more importantly, I was thinking you should be a panelist throughout your posts on Canada Reads, I shall post something, but in the morning, so it'll be coherent.

John Mutford said...

Barbara, A friend of mine just alerted me to the same editor's note. That's freakin' hilarious. I'd call off the minions for fear of alienating those charming CBC folk, but once the minions are let loose...(Who am I kidding, "minions"? Three people have gotten posts up- one being me, another being my wife.)

Allison, Thanks for the support. Feel free to pass the word!

John Mutford said...

Thanks to John Gushue for the mention!

Christina said...

...another being your cousin's wife...

I doubt if they'll show every comment, but they definitely have to read 'em all...

All the best! I hope you'll be on the panel next year!

...if you are...what criteria would you use in choosing a book? Have you got an idea in mind already?

Dream big man! :)

John Mutford said...

Christina,
I knew you had tried to post, but they haven't put yours up as far as I can find. Thanks though. As you said, at least someone will read them.

As for what book I'd choose, I have a few in mind. I won't say what those are yet (there'd need to be some surprises), but I'd lean toward something in a different genre than the novel- I think this year's debates has the potential to scare people off from defending short stories or poetry, but I think it's important to keep those others (and more; plays, children's lit, etc) in the limelight. That said, if between now and then I read a fantastic novel, I wouldn't rule it out. A good book is a good book.

And btw, I find the whole "dream" thing quite amusing.

Barbara Bruederlin said...

John, on the chance that they don't print my comment (being one of the John Mutford lobbyists), here is the message I sent Canada Reads:

"I realize that you have already received several comments suggesting that John Mutford would do a boffo job as panelist, but there is a very good reason for that. He is very well read, well spoken, has a great deal of respect and appreciation for Canadian literature tempered with a critical eye, and has a wicked sense of humour, to boot."

John Mutford said...

Aww Shucks, Barbara! Now I've got an awful lot to live up to if I make it on...

I'm not sure what my next step should be. Maybe I should go on a walkathon. It's frozen over between here and Quebec. Once there, maybe I'll walk to the CBC's Toronto studios.

Actually, Plan B is to pull another request on all my blogging friends. John Gushue got me thinking, if enough people put a small blurb about it on their blogs maybe the pan-Canadian thing might catch their attention. I'd understand if people aren't comfortable with this so please don't feel pressured. But if it's a slow blogging day, and you've nothing else to write about...

Allison said...

We should put a blurb on Notpaidbythehour, not that Barb or I have really been writing on there as of late, but it could use a post like that.

John Mutford said...

Allison, That would be great. An almost sure fire way to reach CBC fans. I really appreciate it!

Barbara Bruederlin said...

Allison, that is an excellent idea. Everybody wins on that one. I'll touch base with you to discuss an approach, if you like.

John Mutford said...

Geez Louise, Barbara and Allison, if I ever decide to go for Prime Minister I want you two on my side!

John Mutford said...

Disclaimer- The link above no longer works. You can see some earlier comments but an error message is reported if you try to add a comment. Instead, simply write to their contact page here.